Informationen für
 

Plasma Dynamics and Diagnostics

Research topics are related to important questions of high-temperature fusion plasmas and to fundamental problems of laboratory plasmas.

Experiments and computer simulations are carried out to study energy and particle transport in fusion plasmas. Objective is an improved understanding of transport losses in toroidally confined plasmas which are caused by plasma turbulence. Turbulent transport is the key parameter determining the economy of a fusion power plant.

Electromagnetic waves are a versatile tool used for plasma heating and diagnostics. In experiment and simulation the physical properties of wave propagation, mode conversion and absorption are investigated in magnetised and unmagnetised plasmas.

Experiments are carried out on the torsatron TJ-K and at the large tokamak ASDEX Upgrade of MPI für Plasmaphysik (IPP) in Garching. Furthermore, the linear plasma device FLIPS is used the study of fundamental plasma properties. The activities comprise design and construction of diagnostics, to plan and carry out experimental campaigns and to apply modern data analyses techniques to the date.

The experimental work is accompanied by computer simulations. At IPF the 3-dimensional code IPF-FD3D has been developed which treads electromagnetic waves in plasma. A PIC-Code is used for the interpretation of plasma waves and the plasma sheath, and the plasma-turbulence code GEM3 developed at IPP is used for comparison with turbulence measurements

Projects:

Experiments and Simulation codes:

Contact
Name: Dr. Mirko Ramisch

Informationen für
 

Plasmadynamik und -diagnostik

Die Forschungsgruppe Plasmadynamik- und diagnostik befasst sich mit wichtigen Fragestellungen der Fusionsforschung sowie grundlegenden Problemen von Laborplasmen.

Experimente und Computersimulationen werden zum Thema Energie- und Teilchentransport in Fusionsplasmen durchgeführt. Ziel ist ein besseres Verständnis der durch Plasmaturbulenz bedingten Verluste in toroidal eingeschlossenen Plasmen, die letztlich die Ökonomie eines Fusionskraftwerkes bestimmen.

Elektromagnetische Wellen werden in vielfältiger Weise zur Heizung und Diagnostik von Plasmen eingesetzt. In Experiment und Simulation werden die physikalischen Grundlagen von Propagation, Modenkonversion und Absorption der Wellen in magnetisierten und unmagnetisierten Plasmen untersucht.

Experimentiert wird am Torsatron TJ-K und dem großen Tokamak ASDEX Upgrade des MPI für Plasmaphysik (IPP) in Garching, sowie an der eigenen linearen Plasmaanlage FLIPS. Die Arbeiten umfassen den Bau von Diagnostiken, Planung und Durchführung der Experimente sowie die Anwendung moderner Analysetechniken auf die Daten.

Begleitend werden massive Computersimulationen angestellt. Dazu verfügt das Institut über den 3-dimensionalen Code IPF-FD3D für elektromagnetische Wellen im Plasma, über einen PIC-Code für die Interpretation von Plasmawellen und Plasmarandschicht, sowie den Plasmaturbulenzcode GEM3 des IPP zur Simulation der Plasmaturbulenz.

Wir bieten Bacherlor-, Master- sowie Doktorarbeiten zu aktuellen Themen der Plasmaforschung an. Ein Blick in ausgewählte Projekte vermittelt einen Eindruck über bisherige Themenschwerpunkte. Oder besuchen Sie auch unser Stellarator Experiment "TJ-K" im Labor. Sind Sie interessiert? Sprechen Sie uns an.

Projects:

Experiments and Simulation codes:

Ansprechpartner
Name: Dr. Mirko Ramisch
Dr. Alf Köhn