Informationen für
 

Profile

The Institute of Interfacial Process Engineering and Plasma Technology IGVP is part of the Faculty of Energy Technology, Process Engineering and Biological Engineering of the of the University of Stuttgart.

Figures

In 2018, the research budget accounted for 2.46 million euros. At the end of that year, staff of 62 scientific, technical and administrative employees, among them 20 doctoral students, worked at the three IGVP facilities – along with 43 other students researching for their master or bachelor thesis.

Organization

The institute is organized in the two departments “Interfacial Process Engineering” and “Plasma and Microwave Technology”, with research carried out by six working groups.

Cooperation

Close cooperation with the Fraunhofer IGB makes it possible to pursue projects from basic research to application. This approach is reflected in the variety of funding sources received by the IGVP, including the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), the German Federal Foundation for the Environment (DBU), the German Research Foundation (DFG), the EU, the Land of Baden-Württemberg, various foundations and industry. Key partners include the Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik in Garching, the KIT and DIFFER in the Netherlands.

Research

The IGVP focuses on the design, functionalization and characterization of surfaces and materials of inorganic or organic origin as well as of bio-, nano- and hybrid materials and their interaction. Likewise, interactions with biological interfaces as occurring in infection of human cells with viruses, bacteria and fungi, are being studied. Further activities include the simulation and engineering of interfacially driven processes, e.g. in membrane technology and biotechnology.

On the second part, scientific contributions cover the wide range from fusion oriented high-temperature plasma physics to industrial applications of low-temperature plasmas. A focal point is research on these plasmas for surface activation and deposition of new coatings as well as the development of new plasma sources and processes, as fostered by the synergy between microwave and plasma physics know-how. Research in fusion related plasma physics reaches from fundamental investigations of plasma dynamical processes and simulation of electromagnetic waves to plasma heating with high-power microwaves and development of corresponding transmission systems.

Education

Teaching activities are centered on the subject areas of interfacial process engineering, infection biology, nanotechnology, industrial biotechnology, biomaterials, resource-efficient processes as well as plasma physics and plasma technology.

Informationen für
 

Profil

Das Institut für Grenzflächenverfahrenstechnik und Plasmatechnologie IGVP gehört zur Fakultät Energie-, Verfahrens- und Biotechnik der Universität Stuttgart.

Institut in Zahlen
Das Forschungsbudget 2016 betrug 2,57 Mio €. Ende 2016 arbeiteten 75 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter, davon 41 Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden am Institut. 55 Studierende haben ihre Abschlussarbeit (Master-/Bachelor-Arbeit) am IGVP angefertigt.

Organisation
Das Institut gliedert sich fachlich in die Abteilungen »Grenzflächenverfahrenstechnik« und »Plasma- und Mikrowellentechnik«, die Forschungsarbeit wird in sechs Arbeitsgruppen geleistet.

Zusammenarbeit
Die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fraunhofer IGB ermöglicht die Durchgängigkeit der Forschung in Projekten von der Grundlagenforschung bis zur Anwendung. Dies zeigen auch die Fördermittel für das IGVP, dessen Forschung vom BMBF, der DBU, der DFG, der EU, dem Land Baden-Württemberg, Stiftungen und der Industrie finanziert wird.

Wichtige Partner sind das Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik (IPP) in Garching und Greifswald, das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), aber auch internationale Partner wie EIFER in den Niederlanden.

Forschung
Das IGVP widmet sich einerseits der Gestaltung, Funktionalisierung und Charakterisierung von Oberflächen anorganischen und organischen Ursprungs sowie von Bio-, Nano- und Hybridmaterialien und deren Interaktionen. Wechselwirkungen mit biologischen Grenzflächen, wie sie bei der Infektion von Zellen mit Viren, Bakterien und Pilzen vorkommen, sind ebenfalls Gegenstand der Forschung. Weitere Schwerpunkte sind die Simulation und Verfahrensentwicklung grenzflächenbestimmter Prozesse, z. B. in der Membran- und Bioverfahrenstechnik.

Im zweiten Bereich stehen die Untersuchung von Niedertemperaturplasmen für die Plasmaaktivierung von Oberflächen und die Abscheidung neuer Schichten sowie die Entwicklung neuer Plasmaquellen und -verfahren im Fokus. Mit der Entwicklung und Anwendung von Mikrowellen für die Heizung und Stabilisierung von Hochtemperaturplasmen und von entsprechenden Übertragungssystemen leistet das Institut Beiträge in der fusionsorientierten Plasmaphysik. Darüber hinaus werden Plasmen hinsichtlich ihrer dynamischen Eigenschaften sowie elektromagnetische Wellen für die Plasmadiagnostik in Experiment und Simulation untersucht.

Lehre
Schwerpunkte der Lehre liegen bei den Themen Grenzflächenverfahrenstechnik, Infektionsbiologie, Nanotechnologie, industrielle Biotechnologie, Biomaterialien, ressourceneffiziente Prozesse sowie Plasmaphysik und -technologie. Darüber hinaus bietet das IGVP qualifizierende Lehrveranstaltungen zu weiteren fachübergreifenden Themenfeldern an.